Taliban Establishes New Sharia Faculties in Afghan Universities in 17 Provinces

Monday, 08/22/2022

Taliban’s Ministry of Higher Education (MoHE) has established new Sharia faculties across all universities in 17 provinces of Afghanistan, as per the group’s officials who confirmed the reports to Afghanistan International.

Mawlawi Ahmad Taqi, Taliban’s MoHE spokesperson, stated that teaching of Islamic culture has also been increased to 24 credits in every university.

Taliban officials stressed that these changes have been implemented based on the approval of the Taliban leadership.

Afghanistan International had learned earlier that the Taliban was implementing broad changes in the curriculum of Afghan universities.

Sources of Afghanistan International had reported at that time that the Taliban planned to reduce the teaching hours of the main subjects at the colleges and instead, increase the teaching hours of Islamic culture by three times.

AITV Sports News Repeat (12)
Talk of the Day (43)
AITV Sports News (12)

Share your story

Send your Videos and Photos to us