Regional Countries’ National Security Advisors Meet in Moscow to Discuss Afghanistan

Wednesday, 02/08/2023

The fifth round of meetings of National Security Advisors of regional countries on Afghanistan started on Wednesday in Moscow.

Participants include the National Security Advisors of Russia, India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, China, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan, and Uzbekistan.

The Taliban representatives have not been invited to the Moscow meeting. Earlier, the spokesperson of the Taliban asked the member countries of the meeting to allow the representative of this group to attend the meeting.

The fifth round of consultations of the Secretaries of the Security Councils comes as the security situation in Afghanistan is rapidly deteriorating and has already lead to the closure of the several foreign embassies in Kabul.

It should also be noted that the current meeting of the Heads of the Security Councils of regional states will gather in Moscow after a nine-month break. The previous round of consultations on Afghanistan, which was attended by the Secretaries of the Security Councils of India, Iran, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Russia, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan, was held on May 27 last year in Dushanbe.

In that meeting, they asked Taliban to form an inclusive government in Afghanistan, a wish that has not yet been fulfilled.

AITV News (54)
AITV News (54)
AITV News (24)

Share your story

Send your Videos and Photos to us