Iran Implements Entry Ban For Immigrants In 3 Bushehr Counties

Sunday, 04/14/2024

An Iranian official announced stringent restrictions on entry, accommodation, and employment for immigrants in the counties of Ganaveh, Deylam, and Asaluyeh, including those with residency documents.

Razieh Alipour, the Director General of Aliens and Immigrant Affairs in Iran's Bushehr province, emphasized that any immigrants found in these counties, regardless of their status, would be subject to immediate expulsion.

The Iranian Students News Agency (ISNA) reported that there is an ongoing effort within Bushehr Province to identify and expel undocumented immigrants. Alipour noted that over the past year, more than 26,000 individuals were identified and processed for deportation as part of this initiative.

Additionally, ISNA mentioned that immigrants possessing refugee cards are permitted to move to other provinces only with a travel authorization from their originating province.

Afghans, who represent the largest migrant community in Iran, have been particularly affected. The Iranian government has recently escalated its efforts to repatriate Afghan migrants, mirroring similar measures in Pakistan.

Furthermore, an official reported on Saturday that in Lorestan Province, 247 migrants working without proper permits were identified and deported from their places of employment over the past year.

More News